The Very Hungry Caterpillar

Standard

Here are some photos of Little Man’s 2nd Birthday.

 

Now almost everyone knows of this classic children’s book, THE VERY HUNGRY CATERPILLAR.  At the time it was Little’s favorite book  and we read it just about every night  for months before his birthday.  I thought what a great theme then a child’s book for a two-year old plus I was trying to think out of the box.   This is another theme where there was nothing out there so I had to come up with almost everything on my own for this one and did a lot of web searching.  You can find some Party Decor and Supplies but, they are in the UK and you can find them here if you want to go that way.  Now I think since then more people have seen this theme and have come up with packages to buy.

INVITE TIME: I just copy and pasted pictures of the book and printed out the invites on card stock.  Picture above.

STORY TIME: Per the invite once everyone got there we started out with Story Time.  We got all the kids on the floor and did an old fashion story time.  There was an older kid there so I asked her if she wanted to be the one to read the younger kids the book and she was happy to do so.

CRAFT TIME: Once that was done we went to do our crafts.  I had two small crafts; a Caterpillar and a Butterfly to go with the theme of course.  You will find a lot of crafts for this b/c a lot of teachers will cover this book in school.  We went with the Egg Carton Caterpillar.  I was collected egg cartons for about two months.  I realized that once I got the idea that we get eggs in styrofoam and that was not going to do well trying to paint.  So I put the word out to my family and friends to save back any paper/cardboard egg cartons.  Because we are talking about 2 year olds and preschoolers, I went ahead and pre-painted them all green.  I then bought Crafty Dab Paints from Michaels.  This way the kids could make the caterpillar theirs without a lot of mess.  We got what I call, googly eyes and pipe cleaners.

Next was the Butterfly Craft, also called Coffee Filter Butterfly Craft that I got from here.  Way easy! I used clothes pins for the body.  I went ahead and while I was pre painting the caterpillar bodies I pre-painted the clothes pins in various colors so the kids could have choices.  You color your filter with washable markers, once colored to your liking, you spray with a water bottle and let dry.  It can be messy (and we did all of this outside) I had a clothes line set up so we could hang them.  It does not take long to dry but once dry ( you might want to go do cake and come back) you fold your wings and clip the middle with your clothes pins and then wrap the pipe cleaners around the clothes pin to make the antenna.

So one tip.  I split the kids into two groups so they are not all fighting over the same craft supplies half of them started on the butterfly and the other half started on the caterpillar.  Then you just switch.

 

 

CAKE TIME: Now about the cake.  I saw versions of it online and we have a great bakery in our area that is awesome for custom cakes, Candy Haven.  I left this one up to them.  So I will give them all the credit.  I did see other online that made their own and more power to them!  People loved the cake.  It was the center piece of the party and I didn’t do a lot of decoration so this made up for it.  As you can see it was huge and took up half the table.

 

 

THANK YOU TIME: I wish I had photos for these but wasn’t thinking of a blog a year ago.  As Party Favors we gave everyone a miniature The Very Hungry Caterpillar books.  I found them from a book wholesaler online, here they are on Amazon.  I then put a simple green ribbon with print outs of  the below attached.

Thank you so much for coming!

We really appreciate it!

So if you are wanting something out of the box that is really cute for a kid’s birthday party here you go.  I did it so it can be done and feel free to copy anything you see here.  If you have any questions about anything I didn’t cover please feel free to ask.  I would be happy to answer any questions and would love to see people use these ideas again. It is too cute!

 

 

One response »

  1. Currently Target is offering the Mini version of the Hungry Catepillar in their $1.00 section (usually items on sale in that section only last a couple months) AND they have matching Hungry Catepillar supplies in their party department. They didn’t have this when you did your Party Sonja, but I noticed it when shopping for the fishing party…might be helpful to others.

    10/27/10

Leave a Reply

