Are you deaf son?

Standard

Can you hear me?  Maybe we should get your ears checked?  How in the WORLD did you MASTER the skills of Selective Hearing at such a young age?  It amazes me how I can ask you to do something 5 times and you keep on doing your own thing!  But the minute I have to raise my voice or start to counting you will automatically start to understand the words coming out of my mouth.

Don’t get me wrong, there are times to use such a trait, it can be valuable at times.  Like when you are older and your girlfriend, collage girlfriend I should say b/c that is when you are allowed to start dating, starts to gab with her best friend or when you are watching the basketball playoffs and your wife is talking about something, but you wouldn’t know because the playoffs are on.  By the way that might start an argument with said wife and do not, by any means, tell her I told you it was okay.  That is between you and her.  Okay, that is besides the point.

My point is I understand Selective Hearing.  Mothers do it too, that is why sometimes you have to go, Mommy, Mommy, Mommy, MOMMMYYYY!  But I am the parent and you are the child, I can do that and when you have kids of your own THEN you can do it too!  Great, now I sound like my parents!

Leave a Reply

