Please remember this

Standard

Dear Son,

PLEASE remember this week.  I know at the age of 3 years and 8 months that the chances of you remembering this trip long-term are probably very slim.  You will get to a point in life where you will think to yourself, Did we do that or did I dream that up?  I can only assume that it is going to be another very long time before we can have a true family vacation.  I feel like we do not get enough of these moments and I am always scared that we will not be able to do more things like this in the future, or near future anyways.  I want you to have your own life and not mirror mine or your fathers like I once thought.  But, there is one thing I want you to experience like me and that was family road trips, trips on the highway and stopping every couple of hours for a sightsee excursion, spending the days on a beach or by the lake.  Those were some of my fondest memories.  Fighting over the space in the back seat with my sister.  Coloring in our coloring books until the next stop. (No portable DVD or Ipod back in my day)   Sitting up front on the ice chest (no booster seats back in my day either) leaning in between my parents from the back of a van talking and looking out at the different scenery.  Going on a cave tour or crabbing or watching fireflies in the sky for the first time.

I hope you smell the air, feel the sun on your cheeks, taste the salty water on your lips, squish the sand in your toes, laugh out of no where and take it all in as much as a 3 year and 8 month old boy can appreciate.  Because one day you will be married with kids taking them to the beach and thinking back hopefully of this very week.

Hug-Hug, Kiss-Kiss!

One response »

  1. Precious Post.. actually brought a little tear because it is heart felt from you to your son. Thanks for sharing. Jb

Leave a Reply

