Telling the Family

Standard

Man, keeping a secret like that is HARD!  I think with Little Man everyone knew within a week of us finding out.  Holding that in until the 9 week mark was the hardest, I can’t imagine waiting a full 12.

So when I told Big Man and looked up different ways to tell him I read different ways to tell others as well and I have seen the I’m going to be a big brother/big sister thing before.  But I wanted it to be at a time where everyone was going to be together so everyone could find out at once.  So lucky for me, my birthday was right around the corner.  I knew that when people asked “what do you want to do for your birthday?” I would just say, “a family/friends dinner and cake!”  Simple, huh?  I thought that I would make it kind of fun and do a at home photo booth thing and ask my sister to bring her camera. Fun for everyone and a little more than dinner and cake.

So I searched the good ol’ world wide web for a kickin’ Big Brother T-Shirt and saw this really cute one on Etsy, but the price was not right so I went onto http://www.uberprint.com and made one.  We loved that it said Big Brother to be and that the font/design reminds you of a baseball type shirt.

I figured everyone would show up and say their hello’s and maybe start making salads or play in the photo set up and I would casually be like, “Hey, Little Man”  Let’s go change your shirt, that one’s dirty!”  Take him to the back change the shirt and then walk out like no big deal right?    Worked like a Charm!

My Sister was the first one to spot it and spun her head around and looked at me all one eye brow raised.  Then asked my Mom who was sitting right next to her. “Did you see his shirt?”  At this point Little Man was all over the place and knew what his shirt said so he was being kinda shy about it.  Everyone started to look and ask him to turn around.  It was fun and even though he was being shy, he was pretty proud of his shirt.

Here are some pictures of the night.

Leave a Reply

